August 31, 2015 Special City Council Meeting Minutes


7:00 P.M. Mayor Sandy Jacquot brought the Lecompton City Special Council Meeting to order at 327 Elmore, Lecompton, KS. Council Members Tim McNish, Mary Jane Hoffer, Jimmy Wilkins, Susie Hackathorn were present at roll call and Council Member Elsie Middleton was absent. The following were also present: City Clerk Lynley Sanford. Residents and public persons in attendance included: Sam Smith, Tim Rothwell, Steve Rothwell, Richard and Karen Ice, Charlene Winter, Paul Bahnmaier, Brenda Hastert, Greg Howard, Lyle Fergus, William and Dorothy Smith, Roy and Marsha Paslay, Peggy Wenger, Jeff Pattin Keith Browning with Douglas County Public Works, Greg Weatherd, Ryan Robinson, Kip Strauss with HNTB Consulting, Ryan Bahhrett, Amy Rockers Dave Schwartz and Steve Ballman with Kansas Department of Transportation, and Rex Fleming with Kansas Turnpike Authority.

Ryan Barrett KDOT project manager for I-70 to Iowa street began the presentation stating the purpose of the meeting is to provide the status, update and feedback of the K10 Westleg and 170 Interchange project.

Greg Weatherd presented next, providing a general overview of the roadway options

Kip Strauss shared traffic operations, models and provided a safety presentation. It was indicated that currently 10,000 daily trips are occurring now, and by the year 2040 it is anticipated that 33,000 daily trips will be happening due to increased growth to the West of Lawrence.

The floor was open for public questions:
– Large concern about emergency response times being increased due to change of access to farmers turnpike corridor and to the City of Lecompton. Especially when Emergency response is dispatched out of Lawrence.
– Changing access to K10, making it only accessible through the turnpike. A few issues here 1.) Toll 2.) Speed 3.) inconvenience 4.) time/travel have to go out of the way to access K10 now.

Additional improvements to the community building were presented by Jeff Pattin in regards to cabinets in the kitchen, plumbing, serving window, and HVAC system and overall cost.

Susie Hackathorn motioned to approve spending up to $21,000 dollars for furnace upgrade, cabinets, counters, backsplash for the Community Building. Jimmy Wilkins seconded the motion.
Motion passed 4 yeas, 0 nays.

Jimmy Wilkins motioned to approve building permit for Community Building permit no. 15-246 for renovations, waiving the application fees. Susie Hackathorn seconded the motion.
Motion passed 4 yeas, 0 nays.

9:20 PM – Mary Jane Hoffer Motioned to adjourn the meeting. Tim McNish seconded the motion.
Motion passed 4 yays, 0 nays

Lynley Sanford, City Clerk